Healthcare Division Classes

This training division page sponsored by:



Tuesday, April 16, 2019

10:15 am

High Reliability Organizing: A Layered Approach (Intermediate)  Amy Anyangu, RN Director, Patient Safety and HRO, SCL Health.

The presenter will share key drivers and processes used in organizing for reliability in healthcare.  She will also share examples and methods that have been used to sustain gains as well as accelerate one hospital’s systems journey towards reliability.

12:30 pm

Ageonomics:  Concerning trends in workforce demographics and how organizations are responding to these new challenges (Intermediate)  Joe Galusha, CHSP, CIE, US Leader, AON Global Risk Consulting.

A 49% increase in the number of 45 to 55 year old workers in the US workforce brings new challenges that will require new thinking by safety and health professionals.  Topics addressed will include understanding the impact of these trends and mitigation strategies including:  the creation of an age friendly workplace, partnering with health and wellness professionals to improve overall worker health and considerations regarding enhancements to current medical and return to work programs.

1:45 pm

Safety and Health Hazards in the Legal Cannabis Industry (Cultivation and Manufacturing) (Basic)  Thomas J. Martin, CIH, CSP, Senior Managing Consultant, Ramboll US Corporation.

The legal cannabis industry today is a mainstream, big-business enterprise.  Cultivating and processing legal cannabis resembles an industrial operation more than it does commercial farming, yet has hazards that originate in both areas.  Legal cannabis production has a variety of unique chemical, physical, biological, and ergonomic hazards.  Today’s health and safety professionals are being tasked to protect workers by anticipating, recognizing, evaluating and controlling hazards associated with this emerging industry.  This presentation will describe and detail those hazards and their controls.

3:15 pm

Safe Water Management for Healthcare Institutions – Responding to New Regulations and Challenges (Intermediate)  James D. Tucker, CHFM, CHC, CHSP, BA-HCM, Administrative Director of Engineering Services, Loyola University Health System.

This presentation will cover the challenges of managing and maintaining a safe water management program in a large healthcare system.  Changes in the accreditation standards, water treatment and water testing strategies will be discussed.

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

9:00 am

PAA Disinfectant Cleaners – Patient and Employee Safety Considerations (Intermediate)  Russel Olmsted, MPH, CIC, Director Infection Prevention & Control, Trinity Health, and Dan Maser, MS, CIH, CSP, ROH, President, Enviroair Consultants, Inc.

In the fight to effectively manage hospital acquired infections (HAIs) such as Clostridium difficile (CDI) disinfectant cleaners that contain peroxyacetic acid, hydrogen peroxide and acetic acid (Product Names:  Oxycide, Peridox) are being used as a part of a comprehensive infection prevention strategy.  Although preliminary patient safety results are promising, these cleaners are creating concerns because of staff respiratory health issues and eye and skin contact.  This presentation will cover the issue from both a patient and employee safety perspective and include air sampling and assessment considerations.

10:15 am

Organizational Strategies for Effective Management of Workplace Violence in Healthcare (Advanced)  Judy Arnetz, PhD, MPH, PT, Professor & Associate Chair for Research, Michigan State University, College of Human Medicine.

This presentation will review evidence-based strategies that healthcare organizations and safety officers can implement in efforts to mitigate and prevent workplace violence that occurs in the healthcare setting.

12:30 am

Workplace Violence Prevention in Healthcare Settings (Intermediate)  Matt Macomber, MS, CIH, MIOSHA.

This session will discuss the hazards associated with workplace violence.  We will review regulatory compliance and strategies to reduce employee exposure and reduce risk factors.

1:45 pm 

Improve Your Workplace Violence Prevention Program (Intermediate)  Joy Smith, RN, CHSP, CHSN, Senior Consultant, Healthcare Safety Services, and Ken Smith, CHSP, CIE, CHCM, Director of Associate Safety, SCL Health.

This interactive presentation will provide innovative ideas and processes to improve your workplace violence prevention program.  The instructors will discuss the practical use of methods to reduce the risk of harm.  Participants involved in the discussion will learn proactive tactics that demonstrate proven measures of awareness and ultimately prevention.

  • Chair:  Terry Fisk, CIH, CSP, CIE, CHSP, Trinity Health
  • Secretary:  Janet Dobryden, ARM, CSRM
  • Division:  Phyllis Berryman, RN, MBA, COHN-S/CM, FAAOHN, Abbey Consultant
  • Regina Carriere, CSP, CAWC, Accident Fund Insurance Company
  • Debbie DeNapoli, CHSP, Michigan Medicine
  • Melissa Dominic, Macomb Oakland Regional Center
  • Christopher Dreckmann, Bio-MED Medical Waste Transporters
  • Robert Erps, Advanced Resource Management
  • Sheila Finch, CHMM, CHSP
  • Joe Galusha, CHSP, CIE, AON Risk Services, Inc.
  • Julie Mulder, RN, BSN, Spectrum Health
  • MaryAnn Northcote, CPP, CHSP, McLaren Health Care
  • Rebecca Plasky
  • Jami Przekop, Stericycle
  • Janaea Smith, Almont Medical First Responders
  • Kenneth Smith, CHSP, Healthcare Safety Services
  • Dee Tyler, RN, COHN-S, FAAOHN, Coverys
Future Meeting Dates

April 16-17, 2019, Grand Rapids, MI
April 7-8, 2020, Grand Rapids, MI
April 13-14, 2021, Lansing, MI
April 12-13, 2022, Lansing, MI

Designate Michigan Safety Conference as your charity!